
Sylvia Earle
Aurora Expeditions' 130-guest X-BOW ship: specs, all 11 cabin types with 2026-27 prices, landing limits, included and paid activities, where it sails, and how it compares.
What is the Sylvia Earle ship like?
The Sylvia Earle is an Aurora Expeditions ship, built in 2022 and named after marine biologist Dr. Sylvia Earle. It takes at most 130 guests on polar voyages, so everyone can be ashore in two groups. Most of its 71 cabins have balconies, and ten are solo cabins with no single supplement. 2026-27 Antarctic fares start at $14,106 per person (sold out); $17,336 is the lowest still on sale.
Facts checked October 14, 2026 against 32 sources.
Sylvia Earle specs
101 to 200 passengers: landings run in shifts of 100.
- Operator
- Aurora Expeditions
- Passengers
- 130
- Cabins
- 71
- Built
- 2022
- Length
- 104 m
- Ice class
- PC6 (1A)
- Stabilizers
- Yes
- X-Bow hull
- Yes
- Sails to
- Antarctic, Arctic
- Activities
- Kayaking, Camping, Snowshoeing, Hiking, Polar plunge, Scuba diving, Ski touring, Citizen science
- From
- $14,106 per person
Opens aurora-expeditions.com. We don't sell trips; you book with the operator.
What is the Sylvia Earle?
The Sylvia Earle is the second of Aurora Expeditions' three purpose-built small expedition ships: a 104.4 m (343 ft) ship with an X-BOW hull that takes at most 130 guests on polar voyages.12 It was built at the CMHI shipyard in Haimen, China, for the shipowner SunStone, and the final delivery documents were signed on October 21, 2022.4 SunStone still owns it and has it on long-term, year-round charter to Aurora.2 Its inaugural voyage was scheduled to leave Ushuaia for Antarctica on December 10, 2022.4
The ship belongs to SunStone's Infinity class. Ulstein designed the exterior and Tomas Tillberg Design the interiors.43 In Aurora's fleet its sisters are the Greg Mortimer (2019), the first passenger ship with an Ulstein X-BOW, and the Douglas Mawson (2025).5
Who is the Sylvia Earle ship named after?
It is named after Dr. Sylvia Earle, the marine biologist, oceanographer and explorer.1 Mission Blue, the ocean conservation group she founded, describes her as a National Geographic Society Explorer in Residence, a former Chief Scientist of NOAA and the first "Hero for the Planet" named by Time magazine. It adds that she has led more than 100 expeditions, logged more than 7,000 hours underwater, led the first team of women aquanauts in 1970 and set a record for a solo dive to about 3,300 ft (1,000 m).6 Public decks on board are named for her and for six other women in conservation: Dr. Carden Wallace, Joanna Ruxton, Sharon Kwok, Bernadette Demientieff, Dr. Asha de Vos and Hanli Prinsloo.1
How big is the Sylvia Earle, and what are its specs?
The Sylvia Earle is 104.4 m (343 ft) long, 18.4 m (60 ft) wide and 8,076 gross tons, with 71 cabins on 8 decks.12 Aurora and the ship's owner publish these figures:
| Spec | Sylvia Earle |
|---|---|
| Guests | 130 maximum on Aurora expeditions; 144 passenger beds in the owner's specification12 |
| Cabins | 711 |
| Crew beds | 1052 |
| Length, beam | 104.4 m (343 ft), 18.4 m (60 ft)2 |
| Gross tonnage | 8,0762 |
| Speed | 10 to 12 knots (Aurora); 11 knots economical, 16.5 knots full (SunStone)12 |
| Ice class | Polar Class 6 for the Infinity class (SunStone); Aurora lists Ice Class 1A35 |
| Stabilizers | Rolls-Royce Aquarius stabilization at rest2 |
| Positioning | Kongsberg K-POS dynamic positioning; Aurora says it can hold position by "virtual anchoring" instead of dropping anchor21 |
| Safety | Safe Return to Port certified; two 150-person lifeboats2 |
| Zodiacs | 15, boarded through four dedicated doors1 |
The passenger figures differ because they count different things. 130 is Aurora's cap on its polar expeditions, 144 is the number of passenger beds the owner lists, and Ulstein's launch story said the ship was designed for an average of 132 passengers per voyage.124
The two ice labels come from different rating schemes rather than contradicting each other. 1A is a Finnish-Swedish ice-class notation, while PC6 is one of the seven IACS polar classes, and Ship Technology describes Polar Class 6 as equivalent to the Finnish-Swedish notation 1A Super.3125 A ship can hold both: Quark Expeditions lists Ocean Explorer, another SunStone Infinity-class ship, as 1A and PC6.2930 Polar Class 6 is the second-lowest of the seven polar classes: it covers summer and autumn operation in medium first-year ice.25 That is the same class as Oceanwide Expeditions' Hondius; Lindblad Expeditions' National Geographic Endurance is one step higher, at PC5.2122
How does a 130-passenger ship affect landings in Antarctica?
It means a full ship can put everyone ashore in two groups of 100 or fewer. IAATO, the Antarctic tour operators' association, allows no more than 100 visitors ashore at one site at a time (fewer where a site's guideline sets a lower cap), one guiding staff member for every 20 visitors, and one ship at a site at a time.727 Ships with 201 to 500 passengers face extra restrictions on the time and place of their landings; with 130 guests, the Sylvia Earle sits in IAATO's 13 to 200 passenger category and avoids them.7
The published Antarctic Treaty site guidelines matter even more. Of the 45 the Treaty Secretariat publishes, 11 admit only ships carrying 200 passengers or fewer, among them Penguin Island, the Aitcho Islands, Hannah Point, Paulet Island and Baily Head on Deception Island.27 At 130 guests the Sylvia Earle qualifies for all of them. Viking's Viking Octantis, listed by IAATO at 378 passengers, is shut out of those 11 and needs at least four rotations at a 100-person site (our arithmetic).32
Aurora says its expedition team works at a staff-to-guest ratio of about 1:7.8
Is the Sylvia Earle stable in the Drake Passage?
No ship makes the Drake Passage smooth, but the Sylvia Earle has both an X-BOW and stabilizers that work at anchor. Ulstein, which owns the X-BOW design, says the inverted bow gives a gentler wave entry, less slamming and less pitching.24 The owner lists zero-speed stabilization, and Aurora says the bow "cuts through the swell for a smoother transit."31 These are the builder's and the operator's claims; we found no independent measurements comparing its motion with other ships.
If seasickness is your main worry, compare the crossing options in our fly or sail the Drake guide. Of the ship's 2026-27 Antarctic departures listed below, only Wild Antarctica skips one crossing, by flying from Punta Arenas to King George Island.15
What cabins does the Sylvia Earle have, and what do they cost?
The Sylvia Earle has 71 cabins in 11 categories, from two porthole triples on Deck 3 to one 472 ft² (43.9 m²) Captain's Suite.1 Every category except the triples and the Deck 7 Aurora Stateroom Superiors (which have French balconies) has a private balcony.1 Prices below are for the December 29, 2026 Spirit of Antarctica departure, which showed no discounts, per person as listed on October 14, 2026.10
| Cabin | Size | Deck | Number | Price per person |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aurora Stateroom Triple (porthole) | 244 ft² (22.7 m²) | 3 | 2 | $19,995 sharing three ways110 |
| Aurora Stateroom Superior (French balcony) | 214 ft² (19.9 m²) | 7 | not stated | $21,695110 |
| Balcony Stateroom Category C | 214 to 265 ft² (19.9 to 24.6 m²) | 4, 6 | 11 | $22,295110 |
| Balcony Stateroom Category B | 231 to 265 ft² (21.5 to 24.6 m²) | 4, 6 | 17 | $23,495110 |
| Balcony Stateroom Category A | 255 to 309 ft² (23.7 to 28.7 m²) | 4, 6 | 23 | $25,295110 |
| Balcony Stateroom Superior | 284 to 336 ft² (26.4 to 31.2 m²) | 4, 6 | not stated | $27,595110 |
| Junior Suite | 451 ft² (41.9 m²) | 7 | 4 | $32,895110 |
| Captain's Suite | 472 ft² (43.9 m²) | 4 | 1 | $37,595110 |
| Solo balcony cabins (A, B, C) | 205 to 265 ft² (19 to 24.6 m²) | 4, 6 | 10 | $22,295 to $25,295 for one person110 |
On that departure every cabin below the Balcony Stateroom Superior was already sold out.10 The ten solo cabins cost the same as one person's share of the matching twin balcony cabin, so they carry no single supplement; taking a twin cabin alone cost $32,543 in the Aurora Stateroom Superior, half again the shared price.108 Discounts do not always reach the solo cabins: on the March 13, 2027 Whale Migration departure a Balcony Category C solo cabin was $18,595, against $15,806 per person for the discounted twin.14
Fares differ by voyage and date. The same Aurora Stateroom Superior was $16,646 per person on the 14-day Antarctica Active departure of November 24, 2026 (sold out), after a "save up to 10%" offer, and Aurora's offers page calls its current savings of up to 35% available "for a limited time."1126 Junior and Captain's Suite guests get binoculars, a stocked minibar, champagne and crew gratuities included.110
Is a balcony worth it on the Sylvia Earle?
On this ship a balcony costs little extra, so for most couples it is worth it. On the December 29, 2026 departure the cheapest private balcony (Balcony Stateroom Category C, $22,295) was $600 per person more than the French-balcony Aurora Stateroom Superior ($21,695).10 Because nearly every cabin has one, the real choice is size: Category A cabins are up to 309 ft² (28.7 m²) against 265 ft² (24.6 m²) for Category C.1 The two triples on Deck 3 trade a porthole for the lowest fare and a short walk to the mudroom and Zodiac platforms.1 Our Antarctica cruise balcony guide covers the trade-off across ships.
What activities can you do from the Sylvia Earle?
Zodiac cruises, landings and guided walks are included on every voyage; camping, kayaking, snowshoeing, snorkeling, scuba diving and ski touring are paid add-ons.10 The exception is Antarctica Active, which includes paddling, camping, snowshoeing and snorkeling in the fare.11 Aurora's published add-on prices for its 2026-27 Antarctic voyages, per person:10
| Add-on activity | From |
|---|---|
| Camping | $16510 |
| Paddling | $35010 |
| Snowshoeing | $39510 |
| Snorkeling | $67510 |
| Scuba diving | $1,29510 |
| Sea kayaking | $1,33010 |
| Ski or snowboard touring | $1,39510 |
On the Svalbard voyages, sea kayaking is listed at $630 on the 8-day Realm of the Ice Bear and $780 on the 11-day Svalbard Odyssey.1716 The ship was laid out for these activities: a mudroom with individual lockers and drying areas for dry suits and wetsuits, four Zodiac doors and an activity launching platform.1 It also has a Citizen Science Center, a lecture theater, a heated pool, two Jacuzzis, a sauna and a gym.1 Aurora says it aims to offer a polar plunge on every suitable voyage, weather permitting.8
What is included in a Sylvia Earle fare?
Aurora's Antarctic fares include the bar: from the 2026-27 Antarctic season, premium spirits, cocktails, beer and wine are included, along with all meals, Starlink Wi-Fi, a 3-in-1 polar jacket, Muck boots on loan, landing fees and one pre-voyage hotel night on all Antarctic voyages.9 The ship's doctor is free for an initial consultation.9
Not included: flights to Ushuaia, travel insurance (which must cover medical evacuation), and a gratuity of $20 per person per day that Aurora adds to your onboard account; you can remove or change it, and the two suite categories include a crew gratuity of $15 per person per day instead.810 Our Antarctica trip cost guide adds these up.
Where does the Sylvia Earle sail in 2026-27 and 2027?
The Sylvia Earle spends the austral summer on the Antarctic Peninsula from Ushuaia and the northern summer in Svalbard and Greenland. Its size counts in Svalbard too: since January 1, 2025, ships in Svalbard's protected areas may carry no more than 200 passengers.28 These are its departures on the voyage pages we read on October 14, 2026, with the lowest per-person price shown for any cabin, discounts included:
| Voyage | Sylvia Earle departures | Days | Route | Lowest price shown |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Across the Antarctic Circle | Nov 13 and Dec 18, 2026; Feb 13, 2027 | 13 | Ushuaia round trip; Feb 13 ends in Punta Arenas | $18,695 (triple, sold out)12 |
| Antarctica Active | Nov 24 and Dec 6, 2026 | 14 | Ushuaia round trip | $15,296 (triple, sold out)11 |
| Spirit of Antarctica | Dec 29, 2026 | 11 | Ushuaia round trip | $19,995 (triple, sold out)10 |
| South Georgia, Falklands & Antarctic Odyssey | Jan 8, 2027 | 21 | Ushuaia to Punta Arenas | $32,295 (triple, sold out)13 |
| Wild Antarctica | Mar 2, 2027 | 11 | Fly Punta Arenas to King George Island, sail to Ushuaia | $17,336 (triple)15 |
| Spirit of Antarctica: Whale Migration | Mar 13, 2027 | 12 | Ushuaia round trip | $14,106 (triple, sold out)14 |
| Svalbard Odyssey | Jun 24 and Jul 9, 2027 | 11 | Oslo round trip with charter flights to Longyearbyen | $14,956 (triple)16 |
| Spitsbergen: Realm of the Ice Bear | Jul 3, 2027 | 8 | Oslo round trip with charter flights | $12,236 (triple, sold out)17 |
| Jewels of the Arctic | Jul 18 and Aug 9, 2027 | 15 | Oslo to Reykjavik, or the reverse | $20,696 (triple, sold out)18 |
The South Georgia voyage is the long one: three days at South Georgia and four on the Peninsula, after two days in the Falklands.13 Wild Antarctica's 2027 departure runs March 2 to 14 although Aurora lists the voyage at 11 days, so confirm the length before booking.15 The cheapest cabin still for sale on any of the ship's 2026-27 Antarctic departures was that $17,336 Wild Antarctica triple.15
How does the Sylvia Earle compare with similar ships?
It is a near twin of Aurora's Greg Mortimer and Douglas Mawson, which have more cabins but the same 130-guest cap on expeditions, and it is one of the smallest ships we cover. The table compares it with its Aurora sisters, Quark's Infinity-class Ocean Explorer and the nearest small-ship alternatives:
| Ship | Operator | Guests | Ice class | What sets it apart |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sylvia Earle | Aurora | 130 on expeditions | PC6, or 1A as Aurora lists it | Heated outdoor pool, 10 solo cabins138 |
| Greg Mortimer | Aurora | 130 on expeditions (148 maximum) | 1A as Aurora lists it | First passenger ship with an X-BOW, 76 cabins195 |
| Douglas Mawson | Aurora | 130 on expeditions (154 maximum) | 1A as Aurora lists it | Newest, 2025, with 86 cabins205 |
| National Geographic Endurance | Lindblad | 138 | PC5 | Higher ice class22 |
| Ocean Explorer | Quark | 138 | 1A, PC6 | Same SunStone Infinity class, also with an X-BOW2930 |
| Hondius | Oceanwide | 170 in 80 cabins | PC6 | First registered Polar Class 6 ship21 |
| Ultramarine | Quark | 199 | 1A+, PC6 | Two helicopters23 |
The three Aurora ships are all about 104 m (341 to 343 ft) long, cruise at 10 to 12 knots and take 130 guests on expeditions, so the choice between them comes down to dates and price rather than the ship.11920 Pick Ultramarine for helicopter flights, National Geographic Endurance for the higher ice class, or the Sylvia Earle and its sisters for the smallest landing groups.
Who should book the Sylvia Earle?
Book it if you want the smallest practical landing groups, a balcony for little extra money, or add-on activities from camping to ski touring. Solo travelers do well here: ten balcony cabins carry no single supplement, though they may miss out on sale discounts.10814 Look elsewhere if you want helicopters, a large suite inventory (there are five suites), or to fly both ways across the Drake, which none of its 2026-27 Antarctic departures does. Compare with the other operators in our guide to choosing an Antarctica cruise.
Our verdict
One of the best small ships for Antarctica: 130 guests means two landing groups and access to every site limited to ships of 200 or fewer, a private balcony costs about $600 more than the cheapest double, and the add-on list runs from camping to scuba. The cheap cabins sell out first, so book early.
Best for: small-ship purists, solo travelers, kayakers, campers and divers, couples who want a balcony, Svalbard and Greenland in summer
Opens aurora-expeditions.com. We don't sell trips; you book with the operator.
Voyages on Sylvia Earle
Spitsbergen: Realm of the Ice Bear (with New Scientist Discovery Tours)
8 days · Oslo, Norway (charter flight to Longyearbyen) to Oslo, Norway (charter flight from Longyearbyen) · No Drake · July
from $12,236about $1,530 a day
ViewSvalbard Odyssey
11 days · Oslo, Norway (charter flight to Longyearbyen) to Oslo, Norway (charter flight from Longyearbyen) · No Drake · June to August
from $14,021about $1,275 a day
ViewAntarctica Active: All Inclusive Activities
14 days · from Ushuaia, Argentina · Sail both ways · November to December
from $15,296about $1,093 a day
ViewSpirit of Antarctica
11 days · from Ushuaia, Argentina · Sail both ways · December, February
from $17,096about $1,554 a day
ViewAcross the Antarctic Circle
13 days · Ushuaia, Argentina to Ushuaia, Argentina (Feb 13, 2027 departure ends in Punta Arenas, Chile) · Sail both ways · November to December, February
from $18,086about $1,391 a day
ViewSouth Georgia, Falklands & Antarctic Odyssey
21 days · Ushuaia, Argentina to Punta Arenas, Chile (Jan 8, 2027 Sylvia Earle departure) or Ushuaia, Argentina (Mar 9, 2027 Douglas Mawson departure) · Sail both ways · January, March
from $26,686about $1,271 a day
View
Lowest published price per person in the operator's currency, checked October 14, 2026. Taxes, flights and single supplements vary.
More about Aurora Expeditions
Sources
- 1.Sylvia Earle: ship, staterooms and deck plan, Aurora Expeditions. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 2.M/V Sylvia Earle: vessel description and technical specifications, SunStone Maritime Group. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 3.Infinity class, SunStone Maritime Group. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 4.Aurora Expeditions launches its new expedition cruise vessel 'Sylvia Earle', Ulstein Group. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 5.Marking 35 Years of Exploration, Aurora Expeditions. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 6.The Mission: leadership (Dr. Sylvia A. Earle, Founder and President), Mission Blue. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 7.Bylaws, International Association of Antarctica Tour Operators (IAATO). Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 8.Aurora Expeditions FAQs, Aurora Expeditions. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 9.What's Included (general inclusions), Aurora Expeditions. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 10.Spirit of Antarctica (11 days, Ushuaia round trip): dates, cabin prices, inclusions, Aurora Expeditions. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 11.Antarctica Active: All Inclusive Activities (14 days, Ushuaia round trip): dates and cabin prices, Aurora Expeditions. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 12.Across the Antarctic Circle (13 days, Ushuaia round trip): dates and cabin prices, Aurora Expeditions. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 13.South Georgia, Falklands & Antarctic Odyssey (21 days, Ushuaia round trip): dates and cabin prices, Aurora Expeditions. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 14.Spirit of Antarctica: Whale Migration (12 days, Ushuaia round trip): dates and cabin prices, Aurora Expeditions. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 15.Wild Antarctica (Punta Arenas to Ushuaia, fly/sail): dates, cabin prices, inclusions, Aurora Expeditions. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 16.Svalbard Odyssey (11 days, Oslo round trip): dates, cabin prices, inclusions, Aurora Expeditions. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 17.Spitsbergen: Realm of the Ice Bear, in partnership with New Scientist Discovery Tours (8 days, Oslo round trip): dates, cabin prices, inclusions, Aurora Expeditions. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 18.Jewels of the Arctic: Spitsbergen, Greenland and Iceland (Oslo to Reykjavik or reverse): dates, cabin prices, inclusions, Aurora Expeditions. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 19.Greg Mortimer: ship and staterooms, Aurora Expeditions. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 20.Douglas Mawson: ship and staterooms, Aurora Expeditions. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 21.m/v Hondius, Oceanwide Expeditions. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 22.National Geographic Endurance: ship overview, Lindblad Expeditions. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 23.Ultramarine, Quark Expeditions. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 24.The ULSTEIN X-BOW, Ulstein Group. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 25.Polar Classes, Transport Canada. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 26.Antarctica Offers: Stop Saying Someday, Aurora Expeditions. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 27.Visitor Site Guidelines (landing requirements for all 45 published site guidelines), Secretariat of the Antarctic Treaty. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 28.Amendments to environmental regulations in Svalbard (in force 1 January 2025), Governor of Svalbard (Sysselmesteren på Svalbard). Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 29.Ocean Explorer, Quark Expeditions. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 30.Quark Expeditions Introduces M/V Ocean Explorer to its Polar Fleet, Quark Expeditions. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 31.Hondius Polar Expedition Ship, Netherlands, Ship Technology. Accessed October 14, 2026.
- 32.Vessel Directory, International Association of Antarctica Tour Operators (IAATO). Accessed October 14, 2026.
